Google’s Trusted Stores Program is now being replaced by Customer Reviews.

According to Google, it is designed to “receive and share customer feedback while earning seller ratings.”

However, this is different from ‘Google reviews’ on Google’s business listings, which can be left by any individual on any business, actual customer or not. Only verified customers of a company’s website will be able to leave Customer Reviews.


Google says,

“Google Customer Reviews offers more ways to customize the Google badge and opt-in on your site, better account management tools that save your time, and new insights into your seller rating.”


Although participation is free, businesses will need a Merchant Center account, after which customers who check out using your website can opt-in to receive an email survey about their experience. These reviews are then aggregated into your overall seller rating, which is informed not only by these customer ratings but also Google’s own surveys as well as independent data providers.

This seller rating will be displayed on Google Shopping, AdWords text ads, and optionally also your website. According to Google, displaying your seller ratings on text ads can increase clicks by up to 10%, but of course, that would depend on how good your seller rating actually is.

This is what the Google Customer Reviews badge looks like when displayed on your website:


ads, advertising, customer review, trusted stores, reviews, adwords, search engine, domains, websites, business

Image: Google


Google Customer Reviews can be enabled by following the following steps:


1. Log in (or sign up) to Merchant Center

2. Select Merchant Center programs from the drop-down menu on the top right-hand corner

3. Select Get Started in the Google Customer Reviews card and accept the Program Agreement

4. Add the survey opt-in code to your website

5. Optionally, you can also add the badge code anywhere you like on your website


As of now, the Google Customer Reviews program is available in the United States, France, Germany, United Kingdom, Japan and Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Czechia, Denmark, India, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, and Russia.

You can visit Google’s Help Center for more information.